Take My Mugshot… I’m guilty

Prologue
I’ve been in the presence of evil. Wickedness walked into my office, called me by name and looked me in the eye. I was glad they were there because I wanted to offer an apology for not being as close of a friend as I felt that God wanted me to be. All I got out was a jumble of sounds before evil took shape. Speaking in a voice that was not that of my friend, he said, “who do you think you are!” then stood up as if he wanted a physical confrontation. Then I looked across at her. Eyes glowing with venom. It was then that I truly realized that I was in the very presence of belial himself right here in my church office. From the demon, there was only hate because he really felt that I was out to destroy his mate Jezebel. From jezebel, there was self preservation. Her hatred stemmed from the fact that I knew/know enough inside scoop about her that I could sufficiently bring her reputation down in a pile of rubble larger than the wreckage of 9/11. But she didn’t know me well enough to know I loved them too much to ruin them. So I just existed and watched as this evil force began to seek out other evil to fuel a fire against me. Demonic, scaly fingers pointed their talons at me. Amid the shouts of accusations, I learned that many of the charges against me were rooted from talks I had shared with a trusted coworkers about the pain and issues I struggle with. My closest friends had been recruited to cough up any dirt they may have on me and my family. The fact I have a few tattoos was demonically manipulated into making it appear that I was a drug addict. Worse, Jezebel wounded the best friend she ever had. Jez got erroneous info and began to believe that which was unbelievable. She carefully laid the head of her best friend down on the chopping block and sacrificed her best friend, her husband, and their children… All to protect secrets that will never be told. Jezebel will sleep well tonight…yet across the night another sleeps restlessly having dreams of the day that…Evil called me by name and looked me in the eye…

I met evil. It walked into my office. Then I sat down and wrote this devotion.

I still see the devil on occasion. Gives me chills. But if anyone ever Wonders where the gates of hell are, come go for a ride with me, I’ll take you there.

Now back to you regularly scheduled devotion…

Convicted.  Condemned.  Funny words.  Almost as funny as some of these mug shots I’ve found.  But no one likes to be condemned.  No one.

Have you ever had someone point a finger at you and begin to condemn you? Have they ever said,”The gloves are coming off!” Whether they were listing out your sins (or making up lies about you), or they were comparing your short-comings to their “righteousness”, either way – it wasn’t God’s way.

This religious fundamentalism is nothing more than a modern kickback to the Pharisees of 2000 years ago that plagued Christ. This “Thank you Lord that I am not as bad as He is…” and “it is my duty to expose to the world just how bad he/she really is…” mentality is also one of the key barriers that Satan is using to keep people from the church – the bride of Christ in which they could find comfort and ultimate peace in their lives. No where in the Scripture does God list “Fruit Inspection” as a spiritual gift, let alone a responsibility that we should carry out as Christians.

Scripture puts it this way-

There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus hath made me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law could not do, in that it was weak through the flesh, God sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, and for sin, condemned sin in the flesh: That the righteousness of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit. Romans 8:1-4

God also speaks of His love (the same love that should be is us)

1 John 4:9-10,

In this was manifested the love of God toward us, because that God sent his only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through him. Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. (See also John 3:16)

We live through Christ. Our peace is in Him. What does it mean to have someone point a finger in judgment toward us? It means that Satan is attacking you with his tools of “Guilt”, “Bondage”, and “Turmoil”. After getting a hold of our lives through these demons, he then introduces us to “depression”, “pain”, “fear” and even sometimes “Suicide”.

We are Free in Christ. I mean, SURE WE ARE GUILTY!  But Jesus bought our freedom with His offering of love!  So we have NOTHING to boast about.  We only have gratitude.  We owe no one gratitude for forgiveness other than HIM. Let others continue to condemn while we continue to bask in our freedom. Their condemning attitude and finger-pointing are traits that they have inherited from their father, the devil. Just pray that maybe someday they to can enjoy peace that Comes from Christ, rather than trying to find freedom through the bondage, condemnation, and destruction of others.

John 3:18,

He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.

Seek God’s approval. Not that of a religious fundamentalist. Freedom is in a relationship with Christ, not through the motions of religious liturgy. Find a BIBLE teaching church that is about the relationship with God rather than the fundamental rules of man-made guidelines. Get involved there.  I promise that this kind of church DOES exist! It just takes time trying to find what is right for you.

I don’t give a flip about what others think of me. I am interested in the applause of my audience of one. Tell the pharisees, the drama queens- the Jezebel possessed, the finger pointers, the behind-your-back scoffers — to take it up with the master. Because in His eyes

–you’re free.

Now take a deep breath!  Stop being afraid!  There is no monster in your closet that is coming to eat you.  But you may be surprised to see that there may be a Bible on the night stand that can tell you about a loving God who wants you to know how much He cares about you! Truth Wins!

~ by Scott Herrin on May 8, 2011.

6 Responses to “Take My Mugshot… I’m guilty”

  1. I enjoy reading your devotions. They touch home with me and I can relate to them. They make me think a lot about my realationship with God. One I need to improve on.

  2. As I read your blog…or better yet, your prologue..I wonder…should I be afraid that I haven’t seen the devil lately…it’s though he has left me alone because I am not a threat to him…at least not now…I hope whoever was hurt over this is comforted….thanks for sharing, Scott

    • I know, right? It’s scary. Makes us very leery when it comes to making new friends. Trusting someone is tough. These people still go through life having no inclination of the pain and scars left behind. No idea what damage they have done.

      • watch church do you attend Scott…and where is it?

      • The story above is a true account that happened to me a number of years ago. Now I am just a “normal” attendee of a small church in Petal, MS called Asbury church. I preach in churches when needed but it is a nice change to be in the “regular guy” mode…although I’m pretty sure I’ll never be “normal.” 😉

Leave a Reply

 
