Pooped

Do God’s faithful people ever tire of doing good? Apparently so. I say that because Paul addresses the very issue in Galatians 6:9-10. The passage says,

“And let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we shall reap if we do not grow weary. So then, while we have opportunity, let us do good to all men, and especially to those who are of the household of the faith. ” (NAS)

“Let us not lose heart in doing good.” When you lose heart, you give up, you give in, you get tired of it all and quit.

A tired comedian once wrote,

“Are You Tired? The population of this country is 220 million; 84 million are over 60 years of age, which leaves 136 million to do the work. People under 20 years of age total 95 million, which leaves 41 million to do the work. There are 22 million who are employed by the government, which leaves 19 million to do the work. Four million are in the armed forces busy protecting us, which leave 15 million to do the work. Deduct 14,800,000 — the number in state and city offices, leaving 200,000 to do the work. There are 188,000 in hospitals, insane asylums, etc. — that leaves 12,000 people to do the work. Now it may interest you to know that there are 11,998 people in jail, so that leaves just two people to carry the load and that’s you and me, brother, and I’m getting tired of doing everything myself!”

It’s compassion fatigue. It’s well doer’s burnout. It happens sometimes when a very dedicated, committed disciple of Jesus suddenly wakes up and realizes he’s tired – tired of giving, tired of doing, tired of serving. He finds that the joy of service is gone.

I’m personally dealing with this now.  I am tired.  I feel like giving up.  Does it make me bad that I say this out loud or put it in print– because just throwing it out there makes me feel guilty.  I don’t always feel like doing the right thing, smiling, and acting like everything is great.  You can find a VERY serious dialogue between God and David, on this very subject, in Psalm 13.  Don’t be so pious as to point a finger at me and say you don’t know how I feel.  You’ve been there too.

I think it is okay to be honest and tell God, as well as others, how you feel.

The secret here is this.  No matter how I feel, God is still God.  He is still there.  I may have tears flowing down my face but in my heart I still know.  Sometimes I have to be still and know.  Sometimes I have to stop and rest in the arms of the One who loved me before the stars were made.  Just stop… and breathe… and rest.

Then I get up, dust of the chaff and begin again.

To wrap this up, let me tell you a humorous, but true story related by Patsy Clairmont, from the tape, ‘God Uses Cracked Pots.’ This is a true story about her son, Jason:

“When he was 7, I sent him off to school one day and a little while later there was a knock at the door and I opened the door and it was Jason. I said ‘Jason, what are you doing here?’

“He said, ‘I’ve quit school!’

“I said, ‘Why have you quit school?’

“He said, ‘Well, it was too long, it was too hard, and it was too boring.’

“I said, ‘Jason, you have just described life, get back on the bus!’

There you have it.

Truth wins!

~ by Scott Herrin on June 4, 2011.

9 Responses to “Pooped”

  1. Thanks for your honesty and words of encouragement Scott… I am currently in the same boat.. I am tired.. have been for a while.. Can’t seem to take that step to get back up and brush off the chaff and start again.. In some aspects I can.. in other areas I am TIRED…. given up…. any suggestions of how to get past that?

    • Two things always help me, Tammy. Praying…even when I don’t feel like it. Casting our cares upon Him as He puts it in His word. And doing things for others. Today, at work, I didn’t necessarily feel like smiling, so I made it a point to smile and compliment others in spite of my broken heart. I commented on how cute their babies were, etc. Soon I saw smiles coming back at me. Genuine smiles. That in itself helps. Reaching out when we don’t even feel like being reached ourselves will slowly mend our hearts.

      • Scott, I totally agree! Helping others when you are feeling low is the best medicine of all. Remember the two sons of the master who owned the vineyard? He told one son to go and do some work and that son said, “No, I will not.” He told the other son and that son said, “yes, I will do it.” However, both sons had a change of heart. The first son is the only one who did his father’s will. Jesus said that it was the first son who was in the right. I’ll bet that first son grumbled as he did what he was told to do. I’ll bet the second son was happy when he promised to do the work and was equally happy to break the promise. Sometimes it is the ACTIONS that please God. I think He is ok with us grumbling sometimes.

  2. I enjoy reading your post. The Scripture found in Galatians is one that always kept me going . Their are those days were I just feel to tired to press on, but God always sends someone like yourself to give a word of encouragement, to keep on Trucking ahead! God bless

  3. I loved your pictures and your honesty. It is absolutely fine for you to feel tired. Also, scared. Sometimes I get overwhelmed about the amount of evil in the world. It presses on my soul, sometimes, to the point that I have trouble enjoying my children or family. Because I worry about their future. Resting is good. I find that simply breaking my routine and going outside does wonders. I like to do gardening & bonsai. I can lose myself. I find I am praying and thanking God while I trim, feeling the warm sun on my shoulders. Be at peace, sister, and rest. I will say a prayer for you, though I don’t know your name..

  4. I gets pooped sometimes myself, but I find rest in the Lord and continue on. Jesus took breaks and got off by Himself just to spend time with His Father. This can be a great time for reflection and recuperation. Carry on son!!! You have spoken into my heart when I needed it most.

  5. […] Image Credit:devotions4misfits.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

 
