A friend request that matters

In the day and age of social media, we should be careful not to fall into the trap of judging ourselves by the number of “friends” we have.  You see, a friend is a rare find indeed.  I’ve never had trouble making friends.  I can easily approach a stranger.  But am I a good friend?  I try to be.

Proverbs 12:26
A righteous man is cautious in friendship,
but the way of the wicked leads them astray

A true friend… is there anything more difficult to find? True friendship crosses the barriers of distance, difficulty, time or pain. A real friend will never bring you down, lead you astray or intentionally cause you pain. Or will they? He will defend the honor of your family, offer protection from harm, and be there to lift you up when you are down, right? True friendship is more precious than diamonds. If you can think of more than one person that is truly a real friend, you are blessed. Thank your friends today for being there for you.

A word of warning, make friends with caution. We have all been betrayed at one time or another. Be wise with whom you invest your trust. There are few things more painful than the discovery that one in whom you have invested your life has carelessly toyed with you only for personal gain, entertainment, or just out of plain malice.

A friend of mine (one that has been there for me through thick and thin), George Fields, has a saying…
Love God Completely
Love your family correctly
Love others compassionately

That’s good stuff, huh?

We need to be the kind of friends to others that will reflect the kind of friend that Jesus is to us.

I’ve learned so much from George.  He sings a simple little song that he borrowed from a couple of other sources that puts it this way.

“Friend, I will remember you, think of you, and pray for you. And when another day is through, I’ll still remember you. Friends will go anywhere with you.  They’ll share the good and the bad. The times that I’ve spent with my best friends are the best times that I’ve ever had.”

He has been diligent in reminding me that there is no greater friend than Jesus.  You see, people are just that… people. We are all just people.  If you watch me long enough, I will let you down.  I will disappoint you.  I will hurt you.  That is the nature of man.  But Jesus, on the other hand, has the nature of God… He is God!  He will never hurt us. He’ll never disappoint us.  If you don’t know this friend, request His friendship today!  

“What a friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear. What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer. Oh what peace we often forfeit. Oh what needless pain we bear. All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.”

~ by Scott Herrin on June 10, 2011.

One Response to “A friend request that matters”

  1. I grew up in a very abusive home. When I was nine years old a lady told me that Jesus was her friend. That resonated in every hurting part of my heart and soul and I ran to Him with all I had. That He calls me His friend is still the most amazing thing to me, He kept me alive, mentally and emotionally whole, rescued me out of that place, and holds me firm in His loving grip today. To belong to Him is life and breath, to love Him is food and water, out of Him I can be a friend to others and discern whether another person is in a place to be a real friend. Religiousness doesn’t do that in our lives or enable us to live that way … only Jesus!
    M-Waynesboro

Leave a Reply

 
