I wish I may, I wish I might…

Do you ever wish that you were someone else? Not really like a different person, but different in who you are in your own personality, appearance or whatever.

what would want if you had one wish?

For instance, there are several things I wish about myself. I wish I were more of a financial minded person… a banker, an accountant has these qualities. I don’t. I wish I were more financially stable. I wish I had money put away for the kids college, I wish I had more in retirement…etc.

Also, I would like to be more of a grounded working man. You know, maybe run a family company. Be a part of a career that is a little more grounded, home town based, where you don’t have to worry about your work getting tired of you and you being out of a job. Endlessly wondering if this new home is really going to be a real home or just another stop along the way. It would also afford me the opportunity to be able to cut loose and go and do more with my kids and stuff like school outings.

don't look... you may see something you don't like

Or, what if you were the perfect physical specimen of maleness. The kind that just strikes awe in the eyes of everyone who looks upon your stunning appearance.  Broad shoulders, big muscles, and the like.  Maybe you even have that perfect head full of hair, a baby faced grin… whatever.

Well, back to reality for me. I’m just Scott. The hardware salesman. I do get to go around and do the occasional preaching and speaking engagement.  But I’m just me- chicken farming, goofy haired, tattooed, weight-battling, writer- me.  I never know what my finances may be like in a year. I’m NOT a physical specimen to be compared to. Losing my hair. A face that makes babies cry every time and a smile that was made in a lab (which we are still paying the dental bill). I’m just Scott. I always will be.
Hopefully that is enough. No doubt it isn’t enough to some… judging from some of the friends I’ve lost, no doubt I will lose some more in the future from the fact that I won’t be enough — just being me, that is.

I’m trying to work seriously on changing my appearance. Trying to lose weight and grow hair. My personality is definitely changing… I hope you have noticed. I and striving to be a more reserved, quieter, tongue holding, slow to speak person. This is because I have learned that if you say little, then the little you say is heard more. I want to be more of a Godly speaker when I do open my mouth. So I do honestly hope you have noticed that.the rose

All of that being said, I come to this conclusion.  Jesus loves me just the way I am. Read the passage below and let it sink in.  Pray over it.

Galatians 2:19-21

New Living Translation (NLT)

19 For when I tried to keep the law, it condemned me. So I died to the law—I stopped trying to meet all its requirements—so that I might live for God. 20 My old self has been crucified with Christ.[a] It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 21 I do not treat the grace of God as meaningless. For if keeping the law could make us right with God, then there was no need for Christ to die.

Thank you Lord that you can love me.  Simple me.  With all my flaws and issues and baggage.  You love me.  All the coveting of things this world can offer will only pull my attention away from you.  Keep my focus on Jesus.

Truth wins, Misfits

There you have it.

~ by Scott Herrin on June 16, 2011.

8 Responses to “I wish I may, I wish I might…”

  1. Interesting how you’re the second friend this morning who has placed His word in front me exactly when I needed it. Two totally different subjects but both speaking to problems I’m struggling with this morning (and at many other times). This post proves that “personal” can be good. 🙂

    • Thanks Tasha. Here lately it seems like I’ve been put through the wringer. But I’m like you, there is always someone there who says just the thing I need to hear. God is good!

  2. Scott, I have lived a pretty successful life by mans standards. I have had many successes, as well as my failures. I have loved and lost, but I am found in Him. I have found that the riches of this world do not satisfy. You know some of what I am going through. How I long to just serve Him!!! Everywhere I turn I get confirmation after confirmation that full time missions is where I am headed. Look out, Brazil!!! Here I come!!!! You have been a great source of confirmation for me. Look to Him. He is using you in a mighty way!!! We’ll never know until we get to Heaven all the people’s lives that we have touched. You have touched mine and i know so many more. Keep doing what you;re doing and God will show you the way.

  3. i look at you as i have my whole life. and i still see what i always saw. my tall, handsome, blue-eyed brother that lights up the room with his sense of humor and calmed every fear with a hug. the same man who has been my hero so many times i have lost count of them. from putting my hair in a ponytail on the bathroom counter when i was young and completely distraught that i couldn’t do it myself, to being there when things didn’t go so well in my life as a teen, jamming to rock music together despite our age difference just to give mom a headache, to holding my son the night he was born. you have always been the kind of person i strived to be like. my hero. my brother.
    and for the record, babies don’t cry. and you’re only losing your hair b/c you keep pulling it out. a habit that must be genetic as my son does it EXACTLY the same way.
    i know that sometimes it’s hard to see why anyone would see things in you that you obviously don’t see in yourself. i mean how many of us think WOW i am SPECTACULAR, but just because YOU don’t see them….doesn’t mean they aren’t there, nor that God doesn’t smile every time he looks at you. like i do. your hugs are healing, and God gave you that gift. i have learned that i see things in myself that annoy me. who doesn’t? but i KNOW with the deepest certainty that i am this way because God thinks i am perfectly made the way HE wanted me to be. i am a stay at home mom, though i’d love to be a NY Times best seller. i don’t make a lot of money or have the best house or anything the world considers a sign of success. i am nothing special by the world’s standards, but i am happy being me. and my family loves me as i am, which is what i think God wants for us. and yes i still joke about my wide rear end, but we are all made with the loving and steady hand of a Creator that sees to every detail. including the way your little sister looks at you with total adoration still seeing her hero swinging her in the air as a child.

  4. Wow… That was so sweet sis. We are blessed to have each other. Hope to see you soon to give you one of those hugs.

  5. Thanks Scott for reminding us all that we are our God created selves by His loving design and purpose! I wouldn’t want my chidlren to be anyone other than who they are, I love THEM dearly, makes sense our heavenly Father who made us feels that way and why He works in us every day for our wholeness , growth, freedom in Him.

Leave a Reply

 
