Is it “Cheesy” to follow Jesus?

It was really late one night.  I am a chronic insomniac, so it wasn’t unusual for me to be up during the wee hours clicking channels.  Then, right before my eyes, was the answer to all my problems.  It was as simple as a phone call.  A simple 800 number and and prayer warrior would greet me with God’s help to pay off my mortgage in less than six months.  MIRACLE SPRING WATER! I was intrigued.

I called.  Instead of a prayer warrior, I was channeled down a series of questions including the state of my financial health.  They quickly took down my information and contact numbers.  Then they just said thank you and hung up.  A few days later, the moment I was waiting for had arrived.  I received my packet of miracle spring water and a personal letter from prosperity preacher, Peter Popoff.  It gave very detailed instructions entitled, “Holy Ghost Instructions.”  I was to place a drop of water at each of the four corners of my house, then place the empty water vial on my night stand, pray a simple prayer of faith and send in $127.77 (all of the sevens were important because the letter said it was “God’s number” and would unlock “Holy Spirit Power.”

Not long after, I received an ACTUAL silver prayer bracelet (a piece of Christmas tinsel).  I was told to place it on my wrist for (you guessed it) seven days and each day pray a prayer of faith.  Oh.. and to be sure not to forget to send in the “seed offering” of only 61.21 cents – 21 being the number seven times 3… You are beginning to see the picture, huh?

I then received a prayer cloth that I was told to put under my pillow each night for a month.  The prayer cloth was a red piece of cellophane. But be sure not to forget… well you know. Need I continue?
Do we really wonder why the world looks at our faith in skepticism?  Is there truly such a thing at a real faith?  Well of course there is, but for the unbeliever, who is simply checking out this whole God thing, how can he differentiate? Call me crazy, but I for one, believe that it is possible to be a Christian and NOT be cheezy about it.  I got several funny responses on my Facebook page when I asked the question if folks really thought being a Christian was cheezy… perhaps the funniest being from Joseph B. when he replied “I dont think it is, but I’d rather be cheesy and end up in heaven than be fried cheese in the alternative.”

As much as I LOVE this character, it isn't hard to see why an unbelieving world is skeptical.

Between the way Christians are depicted in the movies… and the state of Christians in  entertainment (i.e. fiction and media) it is no wonder.  If I were shaky in my faith, the whole Peter Popoff incident would have been a MAJOR turnoff.  It seems that there is SO MUCH good Christian music and resources out there, but so FEW churches that truly utilize it.  It is also important the remain faithful in our use of God’s Word.  All of this IS possible.  This is where God fearing, RELEVANT believers have GOT to step in.  It is up to US to show this world that it is actually possible to be a real Christian and all the while enjoy your life and live it to the fullest.  I am blessed to be a part of a Church that is ALIVE and in my opinion is “Cool!”  When was the last time your heart pounded in your chest over excitement of what God was doing in your Church?  When was the last time someone asked you what was different about you?  We have got to show this world that there is more to being a Christian than having evangelist hair and extending your hands toward a television screen to receiving the “electrical sensation of the Holy Ghost shooting through your body.”  We’ve gotta show them that being filled with the Spirit of God is more than having someone blow on you.

This is what the Bible has to say on the subject.

2 Corinthians 4:3-5

New Living Translation (NLT)

3 If the Good News we preach is hidden behind a veil, it is hidden only from people who are perishing. 4 Satan, who is the god of this world, has blinded the minds of those who don’t believe. They are unable to see the glorious light of the Good News. They don’t understand this message about the glory of Christ, who is the exact likeness of God. 5 You see, we don’t go around preaching about ourselves. We preach that Jesus Christ is Lord, and we ourselves are your servants for Jesus’ sake.

This is the church that I attend. Asbury Church in Petal, MS. It is proof positive that God's spirit is still ALIVE int the Church setting!

Go find a place that you can worship Christ in and be fed.  Find a church that is ALIVE with His spirit.  Allow yourself to know the joy of being excited about going to church again.  It IS possible.  Make time everyday to spend with the LORD.  Allow Him to speak to you and move you in the direction He wants you to go.  Show the world around you that you are not perfect, but are a legitimate, real specimen of what a Christian should be!

 

We live in a world that is blinded by the devil.  We may be the only true impression of our Lord that some will ever come in contact with.  Are we leaving them with an accurate reflection of His love for them?

The truth is this, we are misfits in

this old world… and the very nature of man’s soul is compelling the people around us to seek out what makes us so different.  we better be ready to give a realistic, relevant, and  reliable reason for our difference.  Otherwise, we are no different than Popoff, we’re a joke.

Do not miss this!  Meditate over the meaning in this passage:

1 Peter 3:14-16

New Living Translation (NLT)

14 But even if you suffer for doing what is right, God will reward you for it. So don’t worry or be afraid of their threats. 15Instead, you must worship Christ as Lord of your life. And if someone asks about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it. 16 But do this in a gentle and respectful way.[a] Keep your conscience clear. Then if people speak against you, they will be ashamed when they see what a good life you live because you belong to Christ.

There you have it my misfit friends!

Truth wins!

~ by Scott Herrin on July 5, 2011.

4 Responses to “Is it “Cheesy” to follow Jesus?”

  1. Good stuff Scott, mind if I repost this?

  2. Amen and thank you scott!

Leave a Reply

 
