GET REAL!

This was heard on a public transportation vehicle while in Orlando.

“When you exit this vehicle, please be sure to lower your head
and watch your step.
If you fail to do so, please lower your voice and watch your
language. Thank you.”
As I write this, I am aware that the audience reading is made up of real people. As a result, you need to know that the writer is real as well. I do not claim to be perfect, close to perfect, or even have things semi-all-together. I am a real guy, with real issues, real struggles and a real God.The quote above indicates a real truth. The true inner person is the one that acts when we revert to instinct. Uh oh! There is a battle we all face. You see, a fake man can act real all he wants to, but when acting on instinct, the real man rears its head. That is why I want to get so close to God that even when I am acting on “auto-pilot”, there is still a difference. I want to be so much like Him that even my instincts are Godly. Now we are talking serious Christianity.2 Corinthians 5:17 (NKJV)

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

A.W. Tozer says,  “I am afraid of the pastor that is another man when he enters the pulpit from what he was before. Reverend, you should never think a thought or do a deed or be caught in any situation that you couldn’t carry into the pulpit with you without embarrassment. You should never have to be a different man or get a new voice and a new sense of solemnity when you enter the pulpit.”  That is good advice for any pastor.  But the truth is, NO Christian should act any differently on Sunday than they do any other day of the week.

It is my goal to be a constant Christian, an everyday believer.  I may not fit the mold of your average cookie-cutter church goer, but my heart, my instinct and my actions should all match in harmony.  Being a true reflection of Christ doesn’t come from wearing masks of religion, piety or liturgy.  Being real comes from the change that He makes in your life and how that change effects every aspect of who you are.  If we have a real relationship with God, then we will have real change in how we act.

There you have it!

Truth wins!

~ by Scott Herrin on July 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
