Daydreaming

Do you ever allow yourself to stop long enough to daydream? Just to allow you mind to wander. Well, to be honest, I don’t very often. I get really caught up in everything going on and I don’t stop to take many mental vacations.

My wife will argue that I am out of my mind fairly often, but in reality, the opposite is the case. I’m so “busy” and overstimulated by the things going on around me that I rarely day-dream anymore. Watching children play their games of “pretend” reminded me recently that I used to have quite the vivid imagination.

If you could daydream/take a mental break or vacation from reality, where would you go? Who would you be with? What would you be doing? Come on, you’re not to old or busy, and besides, chances are you need a break from your reality. Take a vacation for a minute and you may even surprise yourself where you end up!

For me, I think it would have to be the mountains… maybe by a crystal clear

mountain stream, with someone who loves me, just sitting on the edge of the bank with my feet in the water… possibly even floating on a raft. Humming a simple song… maybe a little James Taylor or Carly Simon and sipping a glass of iced tea… watching the birds fly by or fish swim and soaking up the beauty of God’s creative magnificence.

Psalm 46:10
“Be still, and know that I am God!

Don’t you think that we are too busy?   Don’t you think we should slow down just for a minute to see what God is really up to?  You do realize that He is working around you, right?  You do understand that there is a rhythm, rhyme and a reason behind what He is doing, don’t you?  Could He be preparing you for something?  How will you know if you don’t stop and meet with Him for a while?

Don’t wait until you get to Heaven to experience a taste of it.

ok… zip back to reality…

Dang.

There you have it.

~ by Scott Herrin on August 5, 2011.

3 Responses to “Daydreaming”

  1. Thanks Scott! Being still,living simple like having chickens, choosing a lifestyle that requires less income so we have time to think and feel is so important – He meets us in our thoughts and feelings, shows us what he is doing around and in us, no wonder there is so much push to busy our minds.

  2. You are so right. I often find myself reflecting on my past and what is going on now. If you don’t know from whence you came, odds are, you don’t really know where you are headed. I have spent time recently looking back on monumental markers in my life and really studied them. I also look at past actions and reasons for those actions. I ponder the things God has told me to do and realize that I have veered way off path. If we don’t stop and reflect we will miss that Still Small Voice. Then, He just may send a hurricane!!!! I prefer, ‘stop, look, and listen.” I have been hit by a hurricane or 2. No fun!!!

  3. Good i dea Scott. I know where I would be, and it would include Carla, Forress and Jairus. I had to put the kids back on a plane this morning and it literally has to be, at this point in my life, the hardest thing I have to do. Thanks for the encouragement my friend.

Leave a Reply

 
