Who do they think they are!

Are these wheels turning? No. (click on the photo and make it larger...)

Optical illusions have always intrigued me.  Its pretty amazing how one moment your eyes see one thing, then, suddenly you realize that the picture that you are looking at is something completely different than what your mind had originally conceived it to be.  Well, people can be like that.  I want you to follow closely to the end of this topic before you jump to conclusions on where I am going here.

The Sunday School teacher… she’s involved in every aspect of the Christian lifestyle.  To be honest, she seems to be the most “churchy” person you know.  She’s on every committee possible.  She is giving her time and services to be involved in everything from choir to the youth group.  But, upon closer investigation, her true colors shine through.  The more she is involved in, the more she can control.   The more people she serves with her “prayer lists,” the more juicy gossip she is privy to.  (now you are thinking… “Wow, Scott, kinda harsh huh?”  Just hang with me…)

If you move this photo closer to and away from your eyes, back and forth, the blurry dots in the middle seems to move.

The deacon/elder… he’s very influential in his position.  He teaches, leads, gives, and seems to be the model Christian.  Is he real, or is there a different man underneath the hoopla of hype.

Wow… now all of us have that person, or people, in mind that make us say, “Yep, I know her/him!”  You are thinking, right now, of that one that has fooled so many, but you know the truth… the hypocrite that has lead so many astray.  The one that has counseled someone, just to turn around and spread rumors about the very things shared in confidence.  The one that hurt you.  The one that makes you afraid to trust.

Now all of that being said, here is the point I want to make.  There are lots of real people that really love the Lord, serve Him, and strive to be that model believer.  They are the ones that suffer as a result of the illusion of others.  They are the ones that could really help us/others if people could see past the short comings of the wannabe.  The faithful suffer the black eye from the unfaithful.  That is why I cringe so much every time I hear of another fallen pastor or public Christian figure.  The lost one sees this and cries out, “Is anyone for real anymore?”  Now lets go one step deeper.

Isn't this a nice spiral... actually it's not - only circle. Don't believe me? Trace it with your finger. (now go wipe the fingerprints off your screen!)

Several years ago, the Christian group DC Talk recorded a song entitled, What if I Stumble.  Stark words that snap us into the reality of our own humanity.  Check out the lyrics to this song.

Father please forgive me for I can not compose
The fear that lives within me
Or the rate at which it grows
If struggle has a purpose on the narrow road you’ve carved
Why do I dread my trespasses will leave a deadly scar
Do they see the fear in my eyes? Are they so revealing?
This time I cannot disguise all the doubt I’m feeling

What if I stumble, what if I fall?
What if I lose my step and I make fools of us all?
Will the love continue when my walk becomes a crawl?
What if I stumble, and what if I fall?

If you can relax your eyes out of focus on this photo... a butterfly will materialize in 3D. Cool huh?

See folks, Jesus took the blows and died for our shortcomings.  He suffered the black eye for all the times we have failed.  That Sunday school teacher I talked about… could easily be me.  That deacon/elder that lives the Dr. Jeckyl/Mr. Christian lifestyle… I am he.  See, I am the chief of sinners.  Even Paul echoed this when he said:

1 Timothy 1:14-16

New Living Translation (NLT)

14 Oh, how generous and gracious our Lord was! He filled me with the faith and love that come from Christ Jesus. 15 This is a trustworthy saying, and everyone should accept it: “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners”—and I am the worst of them all. 16 But God had mercy on me so that Christ Jesus could use me as a prime example of his great patience with even the worst sinners. Then others will realize that they, too, can believe in him and receive eternal life.

We have to daily remind ourselves that we are only sinners saved by grace.  And daily we need to ask Him to guide us and keep us from becoming the very ones we have been hurt by ourselves.

God help us to love others to You- to be real- and to show that YOU are real and that YOU have made a real difference in us.

There you have it… Truth wins!

~ by Scott Herrin on September 15, 2011.

2 Responses to “Who do they think they are!”

  1. Thank you, Scott. I have been hurt by some of these people, and it kept me away from God for a long time. Then I realized it wasn’t God that did it, but some silly human, just like me. I stumble alot, but with God’s help I hope to keep getting back up and doing better. Love you man 🙂

    • I think it is important that we remember that churches are full of imperfect people just like us. Eventually we will hurt someone as well as be hurt ourselves. We go to church to worship God and learn more about Him… A well as for Christian fellowship. The day that we are only going for the interaction with people is the day that we will be very disappointed. W gotta keep our focus! Love you too Christy!

Leave a Reply

 
