Here today, gone tomorrow…

 

I saw this quote on someone’s facebook status the other day:

Never underestimate the Power of Purpose..

Yesterday is history
Tomorrow is a mystery
Today is a gift
That’s why it’s called the ‘Present’

 

I’ve often wondered why God has given me so many gifts.  He’s provided me with so many amazing, beautiful things in my life that I don’t deserve.

I suppose that the most amazing thing He’s ever given me is another day… another breath… another heartbeat. And why?  I mean honestly – if He decided to take me to Heaven today I couldn’t complain.  Already I’ve experienced so many wonderful blessings that I could never complain if He chose to call me on home.

Maybe it’s just to give me one more chance to tell you that I love all of you guys and appreciate your friendship so much.  Maybe it is to have the opportunity to hug my children or my wife one more time.   Maybe it is to be able to minister to my church family just one more time.

Or maybe… just maybe… it is to make a difference in the life of someone that I may have contact with today- the waitress, the check-out lady, the elderly man in line behind me, the child in the school hallway.

I don’t dread Mondays any more than I do Fridays.  Every single day has the same potential.  It is the same clean slate that is laid before me to color and paint into a picture of God’s love.  I don’t understand why God has given me today, but it is my prayer that tonight, when I lay down, I’ll be able to look back and see how God has used me in some way today.  Today is one more gift of grace to use for Him. To HIM be all the glory and today I am reporting for duty.  What may I do for you today, Lord?

 

 

There you have it.

 

~ by Scott Herrin on September 21, 2011.

2 Responses to “Here today, gone tomorrow…”

  1. Can you tell me if the image of the chalkboard is copyrighted and who I can contact for permission to use it?

Leave a Reply

 
