DNA RESULTS ARE IN: Dear Misfit, Who’s yo daddy?

Daytime television is awful. Just plain horrible.  Show after show with the same topic: “DNA test results”. Degerate people who had multiple sex partners were trying to esablish who the father was of the child at hand. I often wonder if these

"He is MY BABY DADDY!" "Oh NO HE AIN'T!"

are even real.  Surely This has GOT to be made up.  Can it be?  Real or not, Jerry Springer, Maury Povich and LOTS of judges are making a killing off of the curiosity that some people really live that way!?!  Well allow me to throw a curve ball your direction…

Dear Misfit, Who’s yo daddy?!

When it comes to our spiritual lives, who is our father?

John 8:42-45 (New Living Translation)
42 Jesus told them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, because I have come to you from God. I am not here on my own, but he sent me. 43 Why can’t you understand what I am saying? It’s because you can’t even hear me! 44 For you are the children of your father the devil, and you love to do the evil things he does. He was a murderer from the beginning. He has always hated the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, it is consistent with his character; for he is a liar and the father of lies. 45 So when I tell the truth, you just naturally don’t believe me!

So maybe it is time for us to do a blood test — a test to see if we are covered by the blood of Jesus. Is our character consistent with His character or the character of the devil? Do we stand for truth? Do we love to do evil things? Now there is a difference in battling sin, and living comfortably in it. Saved people aren’t perfect, they are just forgiven. We still mess up– we still battle with our old nature. But we can’t continue to live openly in sin with no conviction. If Jesus is our father, there will be change.

There you have it.

P.S. (and in the words of my friend Kevin Young of the band, Disciple) “If your daddy is the god of this world, if he is buddah or mohammad or krishna or a cow or a piece of wood or stone… or if your daddy is just the plain old devil — then MY Daddy can whip your daddy!” 🙂 –truth wins!

~ by Scott Herrin on October 10, 2011.

2 Responses to “DNA RESULTS ARE IN: Dear Misfit, Who’s yo daddy?”

  1. Scott, this is pretty profound!! I am impressed with your blog. It gives me ideas that I can use on the mission field. By the way, I leave next Tuesday for a month orientation in Brazil. I will be back for Christmas. You are an inspiration. I will be looking forward to receiving your blog on the mission field. Deus Abencoe!!

  2. Thank you brother!! I am praying for you in your endeavors. I can’t wait to see what God has in store for you. You keep your eyes on Him and you will be a jewel in his crown!

Leave a Reply

 
