Do you find me offensive?

Freedom… it is what I want to talk about tonight.

breaking the chains

I am making a few changes in my life and this is something that I have been in deep prayer about.  I have decided to be free.  Free.  Say it to yourself. Freedom. I’m not talking about freedom in a political sense.  I am speaking of the ability to have a free heart.

FIRST, I am making a conscious decision to be free from being offended at every little thing.

Galatians 5:1

 1 Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never

My name is Scott and I have friends who are sinners... oh my

again let anyone put a harness of slavery on you.

Pastor Bob Beeman said it best today when he said, “One of the biggest problems that Christians have, is that we get offended too easily.”  We really do have freedom in Christ.  I am not enslaved to agree with everything this world throws in my face, but the reality of the situation is  that we hide inside of the four church walls (and even in the church we fight about theology…).  We get so worked up about things so many times that we forget that Christ has called us to engage the world… not be engaged to it, but to “Go into all the world…” You know the rest.  When we step outside of our comfort zones, then we make an impact in the world.

In my daily life I work closely with alcoholics, homosexuals, womanizers, all matter of people that probably would not pick out a Pastor to be friends with… but guess what- they are my friends.  Do I necessarily buy into their world view? No.  But I think they will tell you themselves that they see in me, someone that they didn’t expect to find in the average Christian.  I am who I am to them, just like they are who they are to me.  They respect me, and I respect them… and I am pleasantly surprised by the occasional interest they show in my knowledge of Scripture or opinion of theological topics. By the way, the last time I checked, I wasn’t perfect either.   If I were so offended by every little thing I saw, I would never have a chance to show them the love of God.  You gotta remember, God’s word doesn’t come back void.  So chill.

SECONDLY I am deciding to be free from the seeking of everyone’s approval.

whateverIt is in my nature to want everyone to like me, but now, with half of my life over, I am making a conscious decision that you can dislike me without my losing sleep over it.  Let’s say you disagree with the last point I made above… cool.  Have your own opinion.  I don’t have to be right (and you have the right to be wrong 🙂 ) but it is okay for people not to like me.

1 Corinthians 10:31
So eat your meals heartily, not worrying about what others say about you—you’re eating to God’s glory, after all, not to please them. As a matter of fact, do everything that way, heartily and freely to God’s glory. At the same time, don’t be callous in your exercise of freedom, thoughtlessly stepping on the toes of those who aren’t as free as you are. I try my best to be considerate of everyone’s feelings in all these matters; I hope you will be, too. [The Message]

I am me.  Take me as I am and hopefully that is good enough.  If not, you are free to move on.  The fact that I may have long hair or a shaved head has nothing to do with the kind of person God made me to be.  So tonight, I am free.  I am the oddly heavy, silly looking, funny dressing misfit that I am.  My God loves me that way, my (foxy) wife is happy with it, and hopefully you are too… if not, oh well.  My purpose for living is not to impress mankind. I have a higher calling than that.

Psalm 34:22

New Living Translation (NLT)

22 But the Lord will redeem [set free] those who serve him.

      No one who takes refuge in him will be condemned [enslaved].
~ by Scott Herrin on December 29, 2011.

4 Responses to “Do you find me offensive?”

  1. Like I told you before…. I think you are AWESOME just the way you are!!! You have a beautiful family that thinks the same thing. You have always liked me without being judgmental, and I’m glad to say you are a friend of mine!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  2. Scott, I must say that I feel much the same way. If you are pleasing to everyone then you stand for nothing. I came to a point some time back that I could live with differing opinions. I like to participate in good healthy, hearty debate, but I am man enough to walk away and not be offended by a differing point of view. Heck, I have even been known to have a change of view with a good hearty discussion. On essentials, agreement, on non-essentials liberty, and in all things love(CRI). Keep on pressing on!!!

Leave a Reply

 
