If I could change the past…

Famous infomercial "psychic"...

If I knew then, what I know now, I wonder how many things in my life would be different?  After working with teenagers in a church setting for almost twenty years, I have seen many of them become super successful and I’ve also seen some tragedy.  I’ve seen some of “my kids” become doctors, lawyers, scientists, labor workers, nurses, teachers, homemakers, addicts, soldiers, business people, actors, prisoners, and I’ve seen several of them pass away.  There were some kids who made some really good decisions and some who made some disastrous ones.

Would I change what and how I ministered to them? Sure I would!  I would take the kid who took his own life, and move him in with me.  I’d totally invest in telling him how much he matters his family and the world around him.  But wait… I have no doubt that his family already did that.

I’d take the kid who walked into a bank with a gun and robbed it, and I would make a concerted effort to teach him right from wrong.  But, hold on… I did do that, and so did his family.

If the Mayans were so good at seeing the future, wouldn't there still be Mayans?

Then I look at myself.  Would I have even become a minister at all if I had known that once I turned forty that churches would assume I couldn’t relate to kids?  Thank the Lord he gave me a gift of being able to sell in a retail environment.  Would I have put so much emphasis on what others think about me? Would I have been so trusting of the ones that were out there to harm me?

You know, I could go on asking questions like these for years, but here is what the Bible says about all this speculation:

Philippians 3:13

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

13 Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead

There are so many things I would do differently, say differently,  or focus on differently.  But in the scheme of things, I would not be the man I am today if it were not what I’ve been through.  And you have been through everything in

your life thus far to bring you to the place you are today.  You are like clay being molded into a perfect vessel- like gold being refined in a fire- like a sculpture  being chipped away into a masterpiece.  We can look back and see lots of success and lots of failures, or we can look ahead toward the prize that God has set before us…  toward a future of hope.

Besides, we do have inside scoop here.  We do know how this story ends… And we know that the end is only the beginning!

~ by Scott Herrin on February 4, 2012.

2 Responses to “If I could change the past…”

  1. I am much like you, Scott. Sure, I would do everything different if I could go back, but I can’t. I once had a guy tell me that if he could go back he would do nothing different. This would be the response of a fool only, or Jesus. I promise you, this guy is no Jesus!! I am who I am by the grace of God. I have made decisions that hurt me, and others have made decisons that have hurt me. Regardless, the pain is the same, but I seek to harm no one, but to seek and to save the lost. I know that is your aim, too. You have a way about you that touches people. Keep on touching, brother!!!

Leave a Reply

 
