JEDI: Jesus Every Day Illuminated, Part 3: I Want to Believe

Do you really trust Him to catch you?

The old television science fiction saga, The X-Files, would sometimes use a statement that was reinforced in the second big screen release. “I Want To Believe” was indicative of the longing of the characters to experience contact with alien life.  Do you remember the last time that you truly wanted to see God do something powerfully life changing for you?

In Mark, chapter nine, we find an obscure passage that relates the story of a father whose child is possessed by an evil spirit.  The man has heard that Jesus can help.  He doesn’t understand why or how, but he is desperate. So he approaches this Jesus that everyone keeps talking about and asks Him to do something… anything.  Curiously, asks Jesus to help his child- if He can.  I love Jesus’ response.

Mark 9

23 “What do you mean, ‘If I can’?” Jesus asked. “Anything is possible if a person believes.”

24 The father instantly cried out, “I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!”

25 When Jesus saw that the crowd of onlookers was growing, he rebuked the evil spirit. “Listen, you spirit that makes this boy unable to hear and speak,” he said. “I command you to come out of this child and never enter him again!”

If He can?  This is one of the passages of Scripture that makes us all go, “Duh!”  But we must stop and realize how relevant this is in our own lives.  How many times have we said the same thing?

In my own life, I cannot tell you how many times I’ve come before God saying, “I sure wish you could do something about this!” Well, hello! There I go.  You been there?

When we are in the pit of our lives, when we are at what seems to be the bottom, it seems natural to cry out to Him.  My completely

To some, God's desire to love us is an alien concept...

honest response to this situation, though, is that I don’t want to seem pushy or insistent with my requests. But, you know, God wants to meet our needs.  He wants to help us… but He also wants us to know that it is Him that is working in our lives rather than just chance or a fluke in timing.  He knows what you need even if it isn’t what we necessarily want too.  He promises that he will provide for us, and it is okay to ask Him for help.

Even when it seems too good to be true,,

.  Even when you hope rather than know…  Even when you want desperately to believe but your knees are knocking beneath you… ask Him to help your unbelief.  You may just see a miracle.Here is a fun video clip of a friend of mine, Bryan Duncan, reading an excerpt from his book, Dear God, Really?  In this clip, Bryan makes a request of God that is obviously not gonna happen… but is a hoot that he would ask anyway.  I have a feeling that we’ve all been here too!!  Enjoy!

~ by Scott Herrin on April 23, 2012.

2 Responses to “JEDI: Jesus Every Day Illuminated, Part 3: I Want to Believe”

  1. these JEDI post are awesome. Thank you for writing them.

Leave a Reply

 
